Dave Lombardo Publicizes Debut Solo Album, Unveils “Journey of the Host”

Legendary thrash drummer Dave Lombardo (Slayer, Mr. Bungle, Testomony, Misfits, Lifeless Cross, and so forth.) has introduced his debut album, Rites of Percussion, arriving Could fifth by way of Ipecac Recordings. The lead single “Journey of the Host” may be streamed under.

The thought for a Lombardo solo album has origins way back to 1998, when it was advised by the drummer’s present Mr. Bungle bandmate Mike Patton.

“He launched me to Tito Puente’s High Percussion album,” Lombardo mentioned by way of a press launch. “I used to be already conversant in Tito and was a bit shocked that Patton was so musically numerous, and that he surrounded himself with musicians of the identical mindset. That impressed me. I’ve had concepts that I’ve recorded on cassette through the years, however Patton saved insisting that I needed to do a ‘drum album.’ So, the thought behind the album is years within the making. I simply needed to discover the fitting time—for me—to do it.”

Then the pandemic hit. Whereas it halted Mr. Bungle’s touring actions, it gave Lombardo ample downtime to lastly start work on his long-gestating drum album.

“It was one of many best experiences I’ve ever had,” he mentioned. “I had my studio, all my drums. Nothing was in storage for as soon as! My dwelling grew to become a spot the place I might be free and inventive. On the one hand, the touring a part of my livelihood had been taken away, however on the opposite, I lastly had the time to coach myself on totally different software program and recording strategies. It was a really academic and gratifying expertise.”

He would go on to self-produce the complete mission in his dwelling studio, enlisting his son, David A. Lombardo, to combine the ultimate masters in 2022. As heard on the rhythmically dense “Journey of the Host,” the primary goal was that “drums needed to be drums,” and a plethora of percussive devices had been used on the recordings: giant live performance bass drum, a timpani, a grand piano, and a flock of shakers, maracas, Chinese language and symphonic gongs, Native American drums, congas, timbales, bongos, batás, wooden blocks, djembes, ibos, darbukas, octobans, cajóns, and cymbals.

The press launch states that the ultimate 13-track package deal comes collectively in a “movie score-like” method, so we’re keen to listen to extra from Lombardo’s solo mission.

Pre-order Rites of Percussion on vinyl and CD by way of this location, and stream “Journey of the Host” and see the album artwork and tracklist under. Decide up tickets to Mr. Bungle’s upcoming Could tour with the Melvins here.

Rites of Percussion Paintings:
Dave Lombardo Rites od Percussion

Rites of Percussion Tracklist:
01. Initiatory Insanity
02. Separation from the Sacred
03. Inside Sanctum
04. Journey of the Host
05. Maunder in Liminality
06. Despojo
07. Interfearium
08. Blood Let
09. Warpath
10. Guerrero
11. Vicissitude
12. Omiero
13. Animismo